Let me introduce myself…

No I’m not going to go into an awful version of the Humpty Dance, I just want to take a minute and tell you a little about me.

My name is Shannon a 29 year old, full time working, massive laundry doing, OCD having mother to six.  I am married to a man whom I love and adore.  Larry isn’t just my husband but the father to my wonderful, loving, responsible children.

Before I talk about the kids it’s important to explain that although I didn’t give birth to all of these kids I am their mother in every way imaginable.  The introductions will probably be the only time I will explain who is biologically mine and who are my bonus kids  (I don’t use the term step kids, I think its ugly) so pay attention.  J

Briana – 11 (soon to be 12)
She is our straight A havin’, Presidential Award earnin’, sixth grade graduating girl.  Briana is a strong willed passionate child that I know will succeed in ANYTHING she does in life.  I’m just glad we get to go along for the ride.  She is the daughter of my husband and his ex, but I love her just as much as I do my own.

 (She doesn’t like her picture taken by herself so I told her I was taking it of her beach find.)

Kaleigh – 11 (soon to be 12)
She is our wanna be Rock Star singing, boy lovin’, natural highlight havin’ child.  Kaleigh has always wanted to be a vet for as long as I can remember.  Then this year she has decided that she wants to own a spa and give massages.  While Kaleigh is biologically mine her sperm donor resides elsewhere.  Let me just say I am thankful he finally walked away.  I could only mend her broken heart so many times, I’m glad he left before it was shattered. I proud of the young woman she is becoming.

Larry – 11
Oh what can I say about Larry?  I think it’s safe to say that Larry is our toughie.  He is one of those all around good kids who does really good in school but boy watch out if you pick on those he loves.  I love his spunk and can appreciate his love of all animals.  Larry is the oldest son my husband and his ex.  I think I can honestly say that Larry and I have really bonded over the last several years and although we can clash sometimes I am confident that he knows I always mean well.

Tyler – 8 (well in a couple of days)
This little girl is one of the sweetest, tiniest, cutest girls you will ever come across.  She is loved by all the teachers at the school and has had two years of perfect attendance. Like Kaleigh, Tyler loves to sing and is really good at it.  As Tyler gets older I see so many things in her that I admire.  This child has an inner strength that will do her very well in life.  She is the youngest daughter of my husband and his ex.  Tyler is my music lover and I think that is our biggest connection.

Chase – 6
He is definitely all boy!  Chase completed Kindergarten this year and did very well.  He was his teachers star student and his dad and I couldn’t be prouder.  Chase is most certainly another of our strong willed children but yet is very capable of showing a softer side.  He generally gets along with all of his brothers and sisters.  Chase is the youngest son of Larry and his ex.  I have been with Chase since he was 3 ½ years old.  I am honored to have helped mold who he is and has become. 

Chandler – 2
Another son that is all boy!  Chandler is our only child that is “ours”.  We have nicknamed him Bam, partly because during my pregnancy I watched Viva La Bam a lot and partly because it was fitting with how hard he kicked.  Early on in my pregnancy I was put on bedrest because I couldn’t keep anything down.  I was confined to my bed connected to an IV pole.  After I was released from that I had another set back.  My blood pressure was sky rocketing but yet I was showing no signs of Pre-E.  I ended up being on bedrest most of my pregnancy.  November 29, 2007 I woke up and got out of bed to start getting the kids ready for school.  I ended up passing out and was taken to St. John’s where I was told that I wouldn’t be leaving the hospital for a long time.  A month later the doctors felt it was necessary to deliver Bam early.  He was born at 31 weeks gestation and was 3 lbs 4 oz.  He battled through the NICU and the first year of life to get to where he needed to be.  Today he is happy and healthy! 

Well that is our little family!  I hope to be able to tell you all the exciting things and all the ups and downs that we go through.

2 Comments »

  1. wrainbeau Said:

    Your family is amazing!!!! thank you so much for sharing them with us on SLM and on here. I also love the look of your blog i’d love to know where you got the template from.

  2. Elizabeth Said:

    I love the intro and am excited to learn more about you. Feel free to follow my blog as well. Plus it is exciting to hear about moms with big families as I am right there with ya:)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

